Click here to Register

K9Mania.com - Forums By Dog Lovers for Dog Lovers > Health > Senior Health » Doggy Dementia

Old 02-18-2007, 02:27 PM   #1
cjoneil
New Around Here

Doggy Dementia

HI:
I'm new to this and hope this site helps me. I have a 14 year old beagle who has been exhibiting some behaviors that have me thinking "dementia". This morning was the worst. She has been wandering the house aimlessly, growling in corners, sitting in front of closets staring at the closet, bumping into walls / furniture, etc. She has been "going deaf" for some time, not hearing unless you yell. The sight has been a minor thing, but this morning seems so much worse than yesterday. Mornings seem to be much worse than in the evening. Her eating has changed, not wanting breakfast in the a.m. She hasn't had any accidents in the house yet. She doesn't seem to be in any pain, except for arthritis (is on meds). She doesn't like walking on hardwood floors (is it the surface or the fact she can't see well) and is much worse over the past week going up and down stairs. Even the stairs next to the bed that she has been using for a long time....couldn't maneuver them this morning. I also have a younger beagle who is 3 who sees my demeanor and is getting confused by my actions as well as the other dog's. Plus I am basically ignoring her to 'watch' the other one. I do have an appt. with vet in a couple of days. But, am thinking the worst, of course, as well as what would be the best for the dog. If anyone has any suggestions I would appreciate it.
cjoneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2007, 04:50 PM   #2
Carol
Been Around A While

Not sure what the life expectancy of a beagle is but think it may be about 15.
Poor little thing sounds like she is off balance and confused. I hope you can ease her situation somewhat with the help of the vet. It is sad when our pets get older and suffer from similar ailments to humans at the same point in their lives.